Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey fellow Linux users!
With the last update on March 26th, the new 6.5 version came out, and now I can't run my software with Wine (Solidworks, Artec Studio, etc). I get an error message when the application starts up. I am not an expert in Linux and Wine, my common sense tells me 3 ways to fix this problem. The first is to roll back the update and I will probably not be able to do that. If I could find a detailed guide on how to do this, I might try it. The second way is to reinstall the system, but that would take a lot of time and effort for me. The third way is to try replacing Wine with alternative software, maybe that would work. I found CrossOver app, but it's commercialized, unfortunately, maybe someone can recommend free software.
Sorry, I am not a pro in these things, really hoping for your help.

·
Registered
9,484 Posts
Can the Wine settings be saved? If so do so now.

Is there a restore point or system image available? (It's always a good idea to make scheduled daily backups and to make an extra one before any major software update. I would make one before attempting a recovery in case things get really messes up.)

Next I would try obtaining the previous version of Wine and try installing it in parallel (if possible) or over the update. It's a long shot but may work. Some programs retain their setting after being uninstalled. That would allow the current version of Wine to be uninstalled and an older version to be installed.

·
Registered
5,030 Posts