1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Member #1
47,683 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Registered
12 Posts
Great article, but it made me angry- not your writing, but the truth of it all. Hopefully your article reaches many people.

I do have a tech question though, bandwidth related. I am a hobbyist geek, civil engineer by trade. So, to understand bandwidth, I use water pipes. As population grows, water isn't upgraded to larger pipes (generally until rehab is required). Why doesn't this work for bandwidth? Isn't it just a matter of more data moving within a smaller pipe, but faster as load increases? I realize copper et al will have an upper limit, but with throttling used anyways, I don't see where the 'crunch' is.

I hope this is article related- at least your artcle put the question in my mind :).

·
Registered
2,579 Posts
Nice job by the author. hugh, should encourage him to sign up as a member here. ;)

I doubt that we will completely eliminate UBB, since in theory, if it is implemented fairly and equally, it should reduce the base cost of providing Internet service. I am afraid that completely eliminating all forms of UBB, will eventually force ISPs to charge all users as if they were large downloaders, increasing the costs for the average user substantially over time. I suspect we will eventually see Internet pricing structured somewhat like my gas or electricity bill is structured; i.e. broken down into:

1. A flat-rate component which is designed to cover the administration, delivery/speed, infrastructure maintenance/enhancements, marketing, other overhead, and profit. Different connection speeds would set a higher or lower flat-rate fee.
  2. Tier 1 band-width (off-peak period).
  3. Tier 2 band-width consumption (on-peak period).
  4. No caps, unless requested by the consumer (i.e. warn me at 250 GB, and cut me off after 300 GB)