Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2,579 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Firstly, I sort of suggested this idea in the Usage Based Billing thread (even though I accidentally swapped "404" for "DNS lookup"). Secondly, I am not a lawyer.

It has been well known for months and in the case of Rogers, years, that some ISP's, (Bell, Rogers, Primus, which are the ones I know of) hijack failed DNS lookups. They insert their own content with paid advertising sponsored links.

As bad as that is, because the content of the returned page is more elaborate than a simple failed lookup page cached by your browser, the bandwidth required to deliver that hijacked dns lookup is greater than the browser default. I know that it isn't much, maybe a few KB, but here is where I am going.....

That hijacked substituted content is not what the consumer requested, and there is no consent given (I have never been queried by Rogers for a "yea or nay") as to whether the consumer is willing to accept it in substitution for the service requested. When this fact is coupled with usage caps and overage charges it gets interesting. An ISP that is charging for data consumed, but also delivering unsolicited data in substitution for the services (data delivery) contracted for is in violation of the (Ontario) Consumer Protection Act 2002. This legislation protects the consumer from negative billing, which I believe hijacked failed DNS lookups coupled with the UBB approach constitutes.

Arguments Against UBB + Hijacked DNS being legal:

Ambiguities to benefit consumer
11. Any ambiguity that allows for more than one reasonable interpretation of a consumer agreement provided by the supplier to the consumer or of any information that must be disclosed under this Act shall be interpreted to the benefit of the consumer. 2002, c. 30, Sched. A, s. 11.
Charging consumers for assistance