Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner
1 - 20 of 111 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
I am an amatuer radio operator and have read these posts with interest with regards to reception in this area.I have been experimenting with different antennas in hopes of receiving PBS Digital.I live in what is probably the lowest spot in Kanata to boot.Well for the fun of it I tried an antenna I built called a Hentenna(popular in japan for 6 meters) which was cut for 162mhz(yes I know way off freq for pbs).However to my great surprise as of 2pm I am able to pick up all 3 digi channels with this antenna indoors on second floor.So now I guess maybe ill build one that closer resonates.Google the antenna design,pretty simple to make out of copper wire or as I did copper pipe.In short it looks like a loop shaped like a rectangle with feed points about an 1/8 of a wavelength in.its about 1 foot wide by 2.5 ft tall(for 162 mhz).Not sure if dx is good today but if its average this looks like a good antenna.Ive had fantastic results on 2 meters as this design is VERY broadbanded.

CHEERS...and good luck
David in Kanata

·
Registered
1,543 Posts
I live in what is probably the lowest spot in Kanata to boot.Well for the fun of it I tried an antenna I built called a Hentenna(popular in japan for 6 meters) which was cut for 162mhz(yes I know way off freq for pbs).However to my great surprise as of 2pm I am able to pick up all 3 digi channels with this antenna indoors on second floor.
One of the lucky ones. It's mostly all location, location, location for WNPI-DT (PBS).

Here's the TVfool coverage for WNPI-DT in Ottawa-West through Kanata.

Anywhere with colour has a decent shot at it. My Bells Corners antenna is in one of the just barely non-white blocks above Stony Swamp in the picture. We get WNPI-DT here, but with practically no margin to spare.

Cheers

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Oh for sure!!