Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

A bit about myself I am a college student currently studying in the field of engineering. As such i spend hours and hours in front of my computer working on cad or typing reports.

As such I am looking to drastically improve my audio set up. I have a logitech 7.1 system which is 'okay' but far from good.

I will be building myself a custom computer soon to run cad and some other engineering tools. Because it is a custom build I can obviously pick and choose components.

Here are some ideas of come up with that i would like some feedback on.

#1) Build the computer with a motherboard that has daul LAN ports, Then add a receiver and speaker system connected through the LAN.

#2) Buy a motherboard that has an optical audio output and connect that a receiver and speakers.

#3) Add a dedicated sound card to the computer and run an optical cable from that to the receiver.

I live in an apartment I am NOT looking for something that will be loud im trying to get good audio quality.

Id like some feedback and how you would go about this. I'm open to motherboard suggestions as long as they are LGA 1366 or audio cards.

I don't have a firm budget yet but please keep in mind i am a student so funds are not unlimited, the receiver would be a base model I don't intend to plug anything into it other then this one computer and maybe an ipod dock.

Steven

·
Registered
390 Posts
All of what you're trying to do can be done with an HDMI port on the mainboard. I've yet to see a decently priced receiver with a LAN port (or why you'd want it anyway).

Most mainboards shipped now have an HDMI port built in. HDMI to the receiver and you're good to go. Just make sure the receiver you have has an available HDMI input port. Or purchase one that does. Most modern receivers have an HDMI port or two.

·
Member #1
47,683 Posts
to add to cambo's comment,