Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,
I am new to this.
I need some assistance. Last year we got the Rogers ignite installed in our room. However the coax cable that runs from the wall into the TV is so short and in the dark we trip on it, I am so afraid one day the tv will come crashing down.
Is there an extension I can buy to extend the cable from the wall and then have it connect to the TV? I tried contacting Rogers to help, but I don't think the person understood me. I am hoping this is something easy I can do myself. Any assistance or advice anyone can provide is appreciated. Thank you all. Stay safe and healthy!

·
Super Moderator
56,465 Posts
Firstly, the coax runs to the Rogers (Router/modem) Box, not the TV. Is that the one you're talking about? How long is your existing RF-coax cable? You could simply purchase a longer RF-coax (preferably RG-6) instead of extending the existing one. These are fairly inexpensive. If you want to extend the existing one, you can get a coupler (barrel connector) and an additional coax, although that will have a bit more signal loss and is another source for a possible poor connection.

The Rogers Box connects to the TV via HDMI and I guess that's not the cable you're talking about? If it is, get a longer HDMI cable.

I'm not quite sure why Rogers wouldn't have known what you're talking about. Usually they are able to provide a longer RF-coax cable (during, or after installation), however, during COVID-19 they will not do house calls.

If you've got an Ethernet cable from the Router/modem to the Rogers Ignite Box, then you could get a longer Ethernet cable for that, or use WiFi, as mentioned in the post below.

Edit - If there is an RF-coax cable running directly from the wall to the TV, you should simply be able to remove it since it's not doing anything since Ignite works as mentioned above and in the post below:

·
Registered