Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I Just spoke with a cs agent while upgrading one of my 209's to a 630 we were discussing the fact that i was an installer for them and he told me we may be busy in a year or 2 because shaw will have a new orbitall slot (G1) (higher then f2) and will be using a triple lnb, the dishes will be the same and the lnb is just a swap.....
he also informed that the 209's are being replaced with a "dsr600" an hdmi reveiver that will also have coaxial. they will be $99.00/ $29.99 with a trade in of a 209. he thinks this will take place by august.
I can't confirm any of this yet but thought i'd share.

·
Registered
709 Posts
Installer,

Thanks for the post.

I've been seeing posts about the need for a new triple LNB due to a new Bird being active in ~2012 for some time now, but I think yours is the first with any dates on recievers.

·
Registered
1,995 Posts
So would the dsr600 be a stripped down 605 with no extended IPG but with coax? Otherwise, how would it be different for the 605?

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
he also told me it was a smaller unit then the 209! so I have a feeling you may be correct "bigoranget" wish I would have asked for more details.

·
Registered
7,131 Posts
I hope that it is HD. HD chips must be cheap enough now that HD receivers can be almost as inexpensive to make as SD. With the new satellite, Shaw will be making a major push to HD. Why keep selling SD receivers and keep a major portion of one satellite dedicated to duplicate HD/SD channels? It makes more sense to eventually replace as many SD channels as possible with HD channels. It would mean an SD to HD receiver swap down the road but attrition should eventually reduce the number of SD receivers in the field.

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
It is hd/mpeg4 that's the whole purpose of this receiver. to replace the sd ones.

·
Registered