Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I should have read more about this antenna class before. This site is very informative!

I built a db-4 antenna, then db-8 antenna using the coat-hanger design on some 2x4s. Although I don't get any better reception on the upper floor with the db-8 design (compared to the db-4) I surfed around for more ideas. I read more about this fascinating SBGH antenna, and will try and build this before going to do the install up in the attic.

I'm confused by the design listed on this site and maybe someone can help with some basic questions. (I should note that I'm looking for inexpensive solution that will blow the db-8 out of the water). I am also very new to all this physics talk, and I still can't understand a lot of it.. (Yes, I have an undergrad degree, but not in tinkering).

2) It looks like I need 3 meters of copper wire, will any do (eg. solid, thickness) or do I need a specific type?
3) I see some designs use some pvc tubing as a mast. Does wood not work well (eg. would reusing my 2x4 be a good idea?)
4) Some designs use a mesh screen, some have the 12 rods. Does a screen cover all my basis and I can do away with the rods?
5) The reflector rods, can it be just 6 rods, or do they have to be cut to be in pairs?
6) Does the plane distance from the front wiring to the back rods make a difference? (I see some people use 3/8 PVC, so I guess the distance is at least that far).

·
Registered
138 Posts
2) It looks like I need 3 meters of copper wire, will any do (eg. solid, thickness) or do I need a specific type?
solid is required. I used 10awg the largest available in canada. 6awg is more rigid. but it is all ok. The result might not be exactly as predicted by the computer model, but real life result are always imperfect anyways.