Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm really new to photography and am on a tight budget so I'm eyeing the Canon 50mm f1.8 II as my first lens purchase. I've been reading quite a bit about polarizing filters and would really like to get my hands on one. From what I understood so far, the HOYA HMC is a good relatively cheap lens? The thing is, since I don't have that much money to spend, I was thinking of just getting a 58mm one and a step-up ring so I can use it on both my 18-55mm IS kit lens and the 50mm one. But I was just wondering if I use the step-up ring, will I still be able to use the ES-62 hood for the 50mm?
I'm going on a trip next week, and its going to be sunny there, so I do need to buy the hood, right?

·
Registered
67 Posts
I had the f/1.8, and the lens sits well within the body (not flush with the filter ring). AFAIK, this lessens the importance of the hood (I'm no pro)

·
Registered
370 Posts
I don't use my 50mm f/1.8 much these days but I have never had flare problems with it.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I see, thanks for the replies! I don't think I'll be getting the hood anymore then, which is good coz that'll save me more money. Thank youu!

·
Registered
196 Posts
If you have a shop nearby, try it and see if it doesn't fit.

You should be fine regardless, flare is a rare problem with 50mm primes.

·
Registered
520 Posts
The Hood will fit with a step-up ring

I have the 50 1.8 and use a 52-58mm step-up ring (Henry's Generic)with a C-Pol often and the hood will fit on the lens but it is awkward as you have to fit the hood then screw on the step-up ring and filter.

I like the hood just as some protection for the lens but the front element is fairly recessed so it's really not as important with this lens.

Now my other L-class lenses I always have the hoods on them as the front elements are pretty much flush.

·
Registered
4 Posts