Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. I am a newbie in so many ways. In fact both my wireless phone and wireless plan are ancient. And I don't understand a lot of the technical terms being bantered around here. So here is my situation. I have a very old family plan through Rogers- don't want to lose this as the price point is unbelieveable. I would first of all like to add on some applications to this plan and have searched the rogers.com site to see that I can add a value pack that has exactly what I would use. My biggest quandary is, should I get a new phone and replace my old Nokia and can I simply just exchange my SIM card to continue the services. I don't want to cause any problems with Rogers as I have already stated I like my services. WHen i originally purchased my plan, I did not need voicemail or the ability to do emails or even have call display, etc but now I would welcome that capability. I don't plan on sending texts very often so I don't need the mega data plans that a Smartphone would support. Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks:)

·
Registered
5,463 Posts
Depending on how old your original SIM card is you might need to get a new one to support data services. I had to replace my SIM when I upgraded to a data plan.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks for the response

Going to add more info - the phone I am wanting to replace was obtained through a hardware upgrade due to a lost phone over one year ago. The phone number remained the smae as the lost phone. The phones and the original SIM cards were purchased in December 2006 as part of a deal with subscribing to a pooled family plan @ 20.00 per month with shared minutes.
Maybe I should just see if I add on the value pack it it works OK for me or not? Can you remove the add-ons if you don't like them?

·
Registered
8,380 Posts