Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This may be a simple question, but I am a newbie to this. I have noticed a wide range in power ratings between receivers. Some Sony receivers are rated at 1000W while a Harmon-Kardon may be rated and half that. This doesn't mean it's twice as powerful, right? I'm guessing that not all watts are created equal. If this is true, how do you know what power rating to look for. I have some speakers that can take 140Watts, does that mean a reciever pumping out 100W per channel is going to be better then one pumping out 55W?

Vernon

·
Super Moderator
56,884 Posts
Watts are equal, what's not equal is the specification:

- Total Watts - no distortion number given
- Total Watts - a high distortion number
- Total Watts - a low distortion number
- Watts per channel, no distortion or frequency response given, no indication of number of channels driven
- Watts per channel, two channels driven, at 1 kHz
- Watts per channel, all channels driven, 20-20kHz, 0.05% distortion.

The above is an indication of the loosest spec to the tightest. The Wattage difference could be as much as a factor of 10 or 100 between the top and the bottom. It only makes sense since a $200 HTiB rated at 1000W is simply not even going to be close to an AVR rated similarly, but all channels driven, 20-20kHz, low distortion that costs $2000.

By way of example, a $200 HTiB rated at 1000W, may not even be able to produce 1W/ch, 20-20kHz, 0.05% distortion. Basically, you get roughly what you pay for and Watts should be one of your last concerns when picking out an AVR - see:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=76082 AVR Features

See the following previous thread on the topic:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=27306

·
Registered
1,748 Posts
Speakers should also have 2 power ratings:
1) x Watts at y% distortion which will be a lot smaller than 2 below