Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just rooted (with universal androot) and overclocked with Milestone Overclock yesterday to my Motorola Milestone and I love it!!! I custom set it to run at 1000 mhz at 60 vsel and there have been no issues yet. I also downloaded CPU tuner to help manage the battery life better with this added performance and it seems to be working out so far. I have also run it at 1200 mhz at 80 vsel (one of the options on the slider) and it is wicked fast but can be a little choppy when surfing the web.

A word of caution though, don't go beyond 1200 mhz and use a low vsel (I tried 60 vsel) or go over 1300 mhz as it will lock up your phone. I had to pull the battery, sim and sd then plug it in to get the phone to boot up and reset it, THANK GOD!!! Could have been an expensive mistake.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Hi:

I'm an old computer tech, and I've been wondering about the feasibility of overclocking a phone. The thing is, phones are very compact, and I'm not sure there's adequate room for proper cooling when you take the processor significantly beyond its normal clock rate. Have you checked any heat sensors with software or ??

Thanks for the info.

Brainer

·
Registered
1,111 Posts
I find most cpus you can overclock as high as you can just dont change the voltage as this is what generates the heat increase.

Since most of these smart phone overclocks do not adjust the voltage i would think they are generally safe and it will be VERY hard to cook your cpu.

I have overclocked my phone and its neat to try and does increase the speed of the phone at the cost of battery life.(mind you its a minor improvement/battery loss on my phone - omnia 2)

·
Banned
262 Posts
How about stability. Does over-clocking it change that much? And is it really necessary, beyond something to do? That is, is the "improvement" worth it?

·
Registered
1,111 Posts