Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is it possible to use a HTPC as a PVR? Right now I just have a 10 year old regular rabbit ear antenna for HD OTA reception (yes, the reception sucks as I only get 8 channels). I'm assuming I have to buy something for my computer to take a coaxial input.

Can the software PVR do what the Rogers PVR do such as watching the show while recording and pausing TV?

Thanks.

·
Registered
484 Posts
It's a fairly open-ended question, without a few more details, the short answer is yes. The long answer can be found if you search for Windows Media Center or MythTV. I've been doing what you describe for over 6 years, for what it's worth. Oh, and my system is WAY better than a Rogers PVR.

·
Registered
7,131 Posts
Is it possible to use a HTPC as a PVR?
WinTV, SageTV, MythTV, GB-PVR, MediaPortal and Windows Media Center (I suggest you check them all out) will all do what you want. There's lots of existing threads on this topic.

Right now I just have a 10 year old regular rabbit ear antenna for HD OTA reception
I suggest you look at the OTA antenna design area. A Gray-Hoverman antenna can be built for almost nothing out of scrap house wiring, a few screws and washers and a piece of scrap wood. It will work better than rabbit ears.

I'm assuming I have to buy something for my computer to take a coaxial input.
A Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1250 or WinTV-HVR-2250 (I recommend the 2250) will do the job. (They include an OEM version of WinTV.) There are lots of other threads on tuners solutions.

Can the software PVR do what the Rogers PVR do such as watching the show while recording and pausing TV?
Definitely. Depending on the hardware, many shows can be recorded while watching recorded or live TV. I suggest you review some of the FAQs, sticky threads and existing threads on HTPCs and OTA. The search function is also very useful.

·
Registered
910 Posts