Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I'm a newbie to all this and have just set up a basic home theater, after getting good advice from elswhere on this forum.:D

Now I'd like some more advice please, specifically on the projector.

My setup is: A Humax Sat Box; a Panasonic Blu-ray player; HDTV; Optoma HD67 Projector (ceiling mounted), with Jamo A102HCS5 surround sound. connected via an Onkyo TX-SR507 receiver. The sat box and blu-ray are connected to the AVR via HDMI with the HDMI out going to the projector. The HDTV is connected via component, because the AVR has only one HDMI out.

Everything works fine except for the projected image from the dvd/blu-ray player. The picture was almost continually flickering (a sort of coloured negative effect?), and sometimes dissapearing altogether, leaving just sound.
I have gone as far as isolating everything and have connected the blu-ray directly to the HDTV with the same cable as the projector - that is fine. However even when the projector is connected directly to the player using the same cable, the result is always the same.

I eventually stopped the flickering by changing the blu-ray output to 1080i instead of 'p'. I'm not totally sure about the comparative quality of both signals. Am I losing a lot of quality? Also the refresh rate shown changes from 60Mhz to 50Mhz, when I change the output.
I was under the impression that the Optoma was capable of detecting the input and that I should not need to make the change manually?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Steve.

·
Super Moderator
56,563 Posts
I suspect an issue with the (long) HDMI cable. What make, length and gauge is it? I assume your other cables are fairly short. It could also be an HDMI issue between the player and FP.

HDMI Issues FAQ: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=71112