Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to antennas. I've done quite a bit of reading on this forum and elsewhere, and I was wondering if someone could help me out with my choices.

I need to build an indoor antenna for an apartment in the NYC area. The bulk of the broadcast towers are southwest of me, but my windows face east. So either the waves are going to make it through the building, or I've got to hope to catch what bounces from the other side of me.

Originally, I was looking at this design:

http://cachefly.oreilly.com/make/television/04/DTV_Antenna_FINAL.pdf

Then I found this site, and mclap's 4 bay design, along with the Grey Hoverman designs which, I assume, are improvements over the link I gave above?

Because I'm building an indoor antenna, I would like to avoid building a reflector if I can avoid it. If it's necessary, or would make a huge difference, than I'll do it. But if it's marginal, than I'd rather leave it out.

That being the case, which of the available designs would give me the best performance under my conditions?

·
Registered
598 Posts
I've learned that the trick to receiving OTA in an apartment when the signals are local, strong and on the opposite side of your apartment window is to eliminate multipath interference.

When the tv signals have to travel through the building to get to your antenna they become weaker and have to compete with tv signals that bounce off another building and come from another direction. With analog this causes ghosting, with digital tv signals this causes drop outs and pixelation.

Here my local station 8.2 miles away with NM reading of 62.8 and on the opposite side of my unit. I can receive this station with just about any antenna. Here is a pic with the channel on my portable tv in the middle of my apartment - notice the antenna is not even extended: