Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello. I am new to this. I live in Texas, USA, not Canada. Anyhow, I hope you can help. I cut the cable and had a square RCA antenna in the attic. It was ok, but had a hard time picking up the local PBS (public television), That is VHF. So I built a 4 bowtie antenna which was better. Now I get PBS and another new station, and quite a few stations actually. However, everything still has 2 out of 5 bars. Most stations are less than 30 miles away.The antenna is pointed in the direction of most stations. I have the antenna in the attic. See photo. I adjusted the reflector since I took this photo. I moved the radiant barrier in that spot so it is not in the way. So where do I go from here to get a better signal strength? Thank you.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Not bad for your first build. If you can’t put the antenna outside, I’d try an amplifier. Maybe that would increase your signal. As long as the channels stay locked in, it doesn’t matter how strong they are.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you. I do already own to antenna amps. Is one better than the other? See photos.

·
Registered
130 Posts