Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!, I'm new here so this is my introduction!

I tried to do as much research as possible and some have attempted this and had some results that sounded promising. So maybe I'll keep this first post brief.

This will be my first hack. I chose the 30-2476 for a couple reasons.
#1 It's a reasonably good and proven design, sometimes rivaling some of the old favorite VHF only antennas.
#2 relatively brief reasonably priced, easy to get and you even get a discount for buying four at a time.
#3 with four antennas I have a lot of donor pieces, booms, directors, two spare dipoles and baluns. I didn't mention earlier I'm going to build to and eventually combine them.

I've already started on this project. It looks like because I'm a newbie here I can't upload any images. But what I started to do was take two front sections from two donor 30 - 2476 and create an extension on the existing antennas to hack them. I shuffled the directors and got the spacing exactly the same has to last for directors on the original front sections. So basically, the directors are tapered evenly and the spacing is all 10 and a half inch in the front section. I'm not very impressed with the performance yet so I've come here looking for suggestions.

Once I get to design figured out I will join two and do some light DXing.

I plan to upload some photos, diagrams Etc. That is of course if there's any interest.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Maybe because I'm new here I cannot post photos ?? Is it like the TV fool forum, where you had to make five posts before they let you post a link? Guys were just posting one sentence after another just so they could get their TV fool link in The Forum...

·
Super Moderator
16,590 Posts