Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for some advice. I despise negotiating, but realize it's s.o.p. when buying hi-fi equipment. I'm preparing to purchase a new pair of Paradigm Studio 60 speakers and would like to know what a reasonable offer might be. The speakers are currently advertised locally for $2,298, plus 12% HST. I'm not looking to squeeze every last penny, but just want to walk away with both parties satisfied, if that makes sense. An offer to pay the listed price, but have the retailer pay the HST, seems reasonable to me but I have no experience in purchasing from this industry.

Any solid advice anyone can offer? Thanks in advance.

·
Member #1
47,683 Posts
Speakers are a high margin item so you should never pay full retail. A 10 to 15% discount is probably reasonable. If you want a discount, don't shop at a busy time. Go in when its empty. The deals are always better then.

·
Registered
3,368 Posts
I'm not looking to squeeze every last penny
Why not? ;)

You're a lot nicer than I am. I try to leave as little money on the table as possible.

If you have a particular product that you want you may be able to find out the dealer's cost, and then you can go in and make them an offer. I've had success using that method before.

Or, you could use the new car buying tactics. Find out all the product dealers in your area (or ones who will ship to you), and then send an email to them all asking for a quote. Print out the best quote and take it in to your local dealer and ask them to match/beat it.

·
Registered
2,944 Posts
Speakers are a high margin item so you should never pay full retail. A 10 to 15% discount is probably reasonable. If you want a discount, don't shop at a busy time. Go in when its empty. The deals are always better then.