Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

Need some recommendations on 3-ch amp

8162 Views 48 Replies 15 Participants Last post by  gfong
I Would like to ad a 3ch amp to my system for my front 3 and would appreciate some recommendations. I am new to amps and don't know which brands are available to us Canadians. Most of my online pals keep recommending Emotiva but I'm uneasy about ordering something like that over the border just in case I run into warranty issues.

For those who would ask if there is something lacking currently that makes me feel I need more power, my answer is not really. I have basically had a good season and am in a position where I have some "me" cash and this is what I would like to do.

System:
Pioneer VSX-32
Klipsch RF-82 L/R
Klipsch RC-62 C
Klipsch RS 42's Surround & Heights

Recommend away! :)

Thanks
1 - 3 of 49 Posts
A well made amp can last 20 years or more. For an amp, it's not a bad deal since (so far) the technology has not changed. It's still basically analog in, analog out, though digital amplifiers are starting to appear. The preamp is where the major changes take place. In the last 10 years we've seen DD5.1, DTS, component video, DVI, HDMI, HDCP and several lossless audio formats appear. New audio and video standards are already in the works so it isn't going to stop soon. Amplifier and speaker technologies are still basically the same as they were 50 years ago, though improvements in materials and design have made significant improvements in performance.
I see Onkyo equipment discounted by about 40% all the time. The markup on them must be exceptionally high at the retail level, compared to other makes.