Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll try to keep this short and sweet. I'm looking at getting one of the aforementioned boxes for a family member for Christmas. I want them to be able to primarily access US Netflix, and stream files from their home computer. I'm aware that I'll probably need to set up a DNS for them to access the international content (unblock us seems to be the most popular), but I want it so that after I've set everything all up, there's a minimal amount of messing around they have to do to keep things working.

From the massive amounts of reading that I've been doing, it seems to me the the Roku3 is probably the best option, using DNS services to get US Netflix, and Plex to stream files from their home computer. Will that work fine? Will the computer and the Roku be able to see each other on the network after altering the network settings to get US Netflix? I'm completely new to all the set top boxes, so I was hoping for a little advice from all you experts here! :)

·
Registered
2,455 Posts
If the recipient's home computer media content is all in their iTunes library then go with the ATV. If it's not, then the Roku3.

Also, you didn't mention it in your criteria but do they want to rent, purchase movies online? In which case iTunes via the ATV is probably the easiest way to do it in Canada. For the Roku3 you'll need to subscribe to a US service that is compatible with a DNS trick.

Whether or not you use a DNS trick will not effect the boxes ability to see other internal devices/computers.

Bottom line: the decision on which box probably comes down to "iTunes or no iTunes"?

·
Registered
3,368 Posts
What are "regular formats"?

Anyway, I'd tend to agree with the Apple TV recommendation unless you want to play a specific format that the Apple TV doesn't support, which brings me back to the above question.

·
Registered
1,589 Posts