Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Frist I want to say Hi ! And I am a beginner to 7.1
I just redid my family room entertainment setup(in the basement). And I am looking to buy some what reasonable price for the side surround speakers. My old setup was 5.1. Here is what I have now
Pioneer VSX-1325-K / Receiver
Polk Audio (RTI10) / Front speakers
???????? /side surround speakers
Paradigm Titans / Rears
Kenwood 10505W 150 W / Self Powered Subwoofer
Samsung UN55C6500 55" LED HDTV
I was looking at the BOSE double cube speaker for their size.
Here is some pics of what I am limited to.
Thanks

·
Super Moderator
56,507 Posts
Looks like you have a drop ceiling there. Since there doesn't appear to be a convenient place on the right side, perhaps you could consider some in-ceiling speakers for the "side" surrounds? You don't provide a photo of the rear wall. Perhaps you could leave your existing speakers as the sides and add two on the back wall for the rear surrounds?

Bo$e speakers have been discussed extensively on this forum and you won't find much good said about them, especially the smaller versions which tend to be part of a package and do not work well alone. Bo$e tend to be much more expensive than equivalent speakers from other manufacturers.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Sorry it would only allow me only post 3 pics but here is the other pic.
It is a big room.

·
Registered
1,980 Posts
I like side speakers to be di-polar, that way it doesn't matter as much where you sit in the room. I see you have a couch on the side, much like I do.
To go with you Polks, I'd say you need the Pold LSiF/X,
http://www.polkaudio.com/homeaudio/lsi/index.php#lsifx
they're made to be side or rear for 5.1or7.1.
I have Wharfedale Diamond 9.DFS,
http://www.wharfedale.co.uk/Products/Product/tabid/78/PID/166/CID/210/language/en-GB/Default.aspx#detail
but i see they've been replaced by 10.DFS