Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
385 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie to iTunes and iPod, so guidance is appreciated. I was given a good start from posts in another thread, from Hugh and others. Now I need some more advice. Thanks. :)

hugh said:
For lossless, I think Apple would be easiest

Once the lossless versions are in your library you can switch options and then create smaller AAC or MP3 versions of all your songs. My suggestion is to use AAC since I think its superior to MP3 but that's a personal preference
In iTunes I have been creating Apple Lossless files, ripping from commercial audio CDs and also vinyl LPs that I own. To set iTunes to create Apple Lossless, I did this:
Edit | Preferences | General | Import Settings: I selected "Apple Lossless Encoder"

In iTunes under Library | Music it shows all the newly created Apple Lossless Encoder files. So, when I connected the iPod, the Apple Lossless Encoder are synched to the iPod, but that is not what I want. What I want is to just save those Apple Lossless Encoder files as master files to archive. Apple Lossless are for my own long-term storage and to serve as masters from which to output more compact portable formats such as AAC and MP3 for use on my iPod.

1. How do I now create AAC files from those Apple Lossless Encoder files, and synch just those AAC files to the iPod and not synch the Apple Lossless Encoder files?

2. How best should I use iTunes to manage the Apple Lossless files that are intended to remain on the PC, and the AAC (and possibly some downloaded MP3) files that are intended to sync onto the iPod?

- Should I create multiple iTunes libraries, one for Apple Lossless files and another for the "output" files intended to sync to the iPod?