Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys I'm new to smartphones and I have a question about Rogers pay-as-you-go cards and a smartphone. Would a pay-as-you-go voice cards work in a smartphone like ATRIX (unlocked)? Or do I need to get a voice/data plan? I wanted to use wifi only for all my data.

Thanks for your time.

·
Registered
1,865 Posts
For what it's worth, I'm using an ancient BlackBerry 8700 unlocked on Rogers Pay as you go... It works just fine for voice / text, rates notwithstanding. :)

Cameron

·
Registered
150 Posts
I'm also interested in this.

I used the Rogers data calculator and determined that I use very little data.

I can get a Rogers 150 MB/month data plan for $10. But, that is data only. Can I combine this data plan with a pay as you go voice plan?

·
Super Moderator
3,996 Posts
You can use a pay as you go voice plan with a smartphone. If you try and use data outside of wifi it should prompt you to buy a data day or week pass.

As far as I know, the only monthly pre-paid smartphone data plans Rogers offers are the Blackberry email/social plans. You cannot use a monthly laptop data plan as an add-on to a voice plan.

In fact, as far as I know at the moment Telus is the only one of the Big 3 who offer prepaid smartphone data. They have a single data add-on which offers 250MB of data and unlimited text messaging for $20/month.

·
Registered
83 Posts
As far as I know, the only monthly pre-paid smartphone data plans Rogers offers are the Blackberry email/social plans.
They also have the new Socialite Voice + Data plans introduced last month. Both include 500 MB of data, unlimited SMS and unlimited social networking. Socialite 45 has unlimited local calling 3-6 daily, the Socialite 60 has unlimited evenings and weekends.

·
Registered
697 Posts