Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just a comment here: I've been interested in eReaders, though I've never physically tried one before.

I was in Wal-Mart yesterday & saw the 2 newest Sony eReaders & the latest Kobo Wifi. So I started playing with them & trying to read one of the installed books. The salesman hovered & was commenting on all the cool features. However, to my instant horror, I was gobsmacked (surprised, astounded, horrified) to see that the Kobo had this brief blackout & sort of double text display between page turns. I blurted out how horrible that was, as while I've read that the Kobo page turns can be slowish, I did not imagine that there would be, I guess just to me, this significant black out.

Then I tried the newest 2 Sony eReaders. While they did turn pages a little bit faster than the Kobo, it was far less quickly than I imagined from what I've read on this forum, but again to my horror and disappointment, the Sony eReaders both versions, had the same distracting blackout between page turns. I didn't imagine that eReaders / eInk, did this and that people would accept this & think that it was normal? I personally found it incredibly distracting & an immediate deal breaker for me, at least for those 2 manufacturers.

So, before I try to look at in hand, other eReaders, I was wondering if you folks know (& accept) that this blackout between page turns, is "normal" for all eReaders?

I'd be interested a) When the price drops to 50-75% of what they cost now if the view quality were to stay the same, or b) if the page blackout / ghosting were non-existant, at the present price or lower.