Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am a professional custom AV installer and new to Digital Forums. I have recently been asked to design and install a 4 input modulated video system in a small motel that would integrate with the existing cable system.

I have some concerns however regarding what is considered cable co. equipment and what belongs to the motel. Each room is fed analog signal directly from a series of multi taps connecting to the main distribution line in the basement to the TVs in the rooms. The account is setup as a bulk MDU (multi dwelling unit).

I have obviously included low pass filters for each room in the design connected to a short jumper so that no external equipment will "directly" touch the multi tap and so the modulated signals stay internal. I have researched all aspects of this sort of installation including signal leakage as per Industry Canada guidelines and channel spacing and am taking every precaution in the design to not create issues on the cable system.

My question is, are there any real legal concerns in doing this since the physical risers, I am assuming, belong to the motel. I know it is perfectly legal to install a modulator in a house, so I am trying to figure out what the difference is.

I have read up on the Radiocommunication Act and Criminal Code of Canada with regards to this subject. From what I can tell based on the wording I would not be causing disruption or interference or illegally broadcasting anything back onto the system and I will not be altering the main distribution in any way, so will I or the owner get in trouble for this? Has anyone else ever ran into this sort of thing? Just want to get some more info before I move ahead with an install since I do know that the cable co can be militant about some of these sorts of things. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
5,074 Posts