Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
249 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I hope I'm posting in the right place. I want to install mud flaps on my wife's car. The front has pre-drilled holes so that is of no concern to me, but the rear doesn't. I know that to install them I will have to drill holes in the real fenders, but will that lead to rust growth? 99% of instructions say to drill holes and they don't mention rust, however the odd person on the net says they have a car that had mud flaps installed and rust began where the holes were drilled. I don't know how old their vehicles were (it's my understanding that older vehicles didn't use galvanized steel and thus were more prone to rust). I'm just wondering if I should be concerned at all or if I should somehow try to seal the holes on both sides (if possible) after I screw in the flaps. I'm not an auto expert but I like to do basic things (such as this) myself, so I thought I would ask in hopes that someone more knowledgeable than me would know.

Thanks guys!

·
Super Moderator
56,442 Posts
It depends on the material you're drilling through, however, this area will be very prone to rust (if it's metal) due to the salt spray from the wheels, etc. After you drill the holes put some paint there, even if it's not the same colour. Then also over the "screws" or whatever you use to connect with more paint or sealer of some kind. Flaps are not usually necessary at the rear of vehicles, especially if they are FWD. Many come with flaps at the front.

·
Registered
1,857 Posts
I would say 'galvanized' means very little since it's a coating and you are going to drill right through it. As mentioned, paint and maybe some acrylic or silicone seal, generously applied. I have avoided doing what you are doing and have avoided rust in those areas!

·
Registered
1,082 Posts