Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new to the HTPC DVR concept thus the reason for the questions here.

I am thinking about purchasing the Acer Aspire Revo as a way to stream media from my network storage device to the TV but at the same time I was wondering if it is possible to also use the Revo as a DVR since it has windows 7 with media center.

I am currently running a HD Bell Expressvu receiver,model 6100 with a single tuner. I have searched for the answer on here but cannot seem to find any post that talks about my exact questions. I am not interested in OTA recordings, I want to be able to record channels that I have available on my HD receiver.

I found some information on the USB tuners but no where is it clearly stated that I can use it to satisfy my needs as explained above.

Any help on this topic would be appreciated.

·
Registered
342 Posts
Windows 7 Home Premium combined with a Hauppauge HD-PVR should be all you need to record HD. However, a Revo might not be the best unit for a PVR due to the limited disk space and weak CPU. Hopefully someone with a Revo can chime in here.

·
Registered
1,101 Posts
Hauppauge hd-pvr

That's pretty much the only hd capture card that will do what you want

There are now win7 native drivers but you could look at dvblink as well.

It's actually not nearly as hard a process as it once was

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
"There are now win7 native drivers but you could look at dvblink as well."

Could you please elaberate some on this, sorry for all the questions.

·
Registered
1,101 Posts
intially win7 wouldn't recognize the HD-PVR as a tuner (it's not, it's a straight capture device)

so dvblink software found a way to trick MCE into seeing it as a satelite card

now win7 will see it as a valid tuner (some caveats tho)

the win7 integration works fine, but imo dvblink has more functionality (at a $$ cost)

·