Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have a Canon EOS Rebel T1i Digital SLR. I have the default lens that comes with it. I think it takes a 58mm filter too (I'm an amateur so don't know what I'm talking about). I want to take photos of like a small marble very close. I can get the 60mm macro lens but its like $450.

Can I just put a magnifying filter on this? Does that do the same? What options do I have?

Thanks for any help.

How about this? ***********************/58mm-Close-Macro-Lens-Canon/dp/B003L1Q31K

·
Registered
2,782 Posts
I bought a set of those "filters" a long time ago. They sort of work but the results aren't the greatest. I just ended up buying a 90mm macro lens.

Check eBay, Kijiji and Craigslist for used macro lenses.

·
Registered
520 Posts
Yes, The 58mm Canon Close-up lens 500Dwill help but it will only help you focus from 500mm which probably won't get you the magnification you want. Other "close up filters" are junk and not worth wasting money on.

The T1i Kit comes with the EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens Lens which the specifications show the close focusing distance to be 250mm (~ 10") with a magnification of 0.34x. So an image of a "marble" at 10" as you see on the LCD will appear .34x life size on the sensor (in other words if the marble is small in the LCD it will be small on the sensor).