Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all --

I am finally getting around to finishing my basement. The house is 5 years old and contains an unfinished basement.

I, of course, wanted to build a home theatre into. Please excuse the rookie question. I am totally new to this whole idea.

A couple questions/advice needed.

#1) What kind of wiring/electrical work should/must be done before drywalling? (ie Cable, eletrical, ethernet, etc)

#2) Any special considerations to be taken for "sound quality"? (insulation of drywall, etc) I don't even know if that makes sense.

#3) Any special considerations for flooring?

Take a look at the sketch of my basement.

I am not sure which way I should build it. Take a look at both proposal and photos.

Any help is MUCH MUCH appreciated (or direct me to an FAQ!)

Thanks,

Robert

PS - Not sure if I posted these photos correctly:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/picture.php?albumid=662&pictureid=3371

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/picture.php?albumid=662&pictureid=3375

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/picture.php?albumid=662&pictureid=3374

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/picture.php?albumid=662&pictureid=3373

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/picture.php?albumid=662&pictureid=3372

or please look in the community link!!!!

·
Registered
1,194 Posts
For you wiring question What kind of "theater" are you after? More a family room with a large tv?
What kind of TV are you planning around? ie plasma/lcd or front projection?
Will the components be part of a wall unit or perhaps off to the side in a electrical "closet" for a cleaner look.
As this plays a role in what and how you run the wiring

Those telepost sure do cause a bit of issue with layout don't they? What is the BLUE post in your sketch? is that existing? From the picture it looks like the post is more towards the center of the sliding door.