Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, newbie here who needs some assistance;

I have recently received a Bell HD PVR, a new Pioneer receiver VSX-520-K and a 52" Samsung.

I ran a HDMI from Bell box to receiver and another HDMI wire to TV from receiver. the input on the receiver for audio is set to HDMI.

I GET NO AUDIO on my TV? has this something to do with my Bell Box???

Do i need to run a digital wire? i am so confused.

any help would be appreciated

thanks
cory

·
Registered
10,007 Posts
What happens if you connect HDMI directly from the Bell 9241 to the TV.?

If this works, it is a setting on the Pioneer that needs looking at.

·
Registered
10,007 Posts
Check that you have the HDMI cables in the correct ports, the Output from the Receiver to the TV looks to be the very bottom Port.

·
Super Moderator
56,559 Posts
I GET NO AUDIO on my TV?
Are you talking about your TV or the AVR? Most AVRs do not "passthrough" the audio to the TV if they're set to handle the audio themselves. You should be getting audio on the AVR if all the settings and connections are correct.

Here's the FAQ on HDMI Issues:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=71112

And here's a post useful for those new to the forum - FAQs, Search Tips, Optimization, etc

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
sorry, i do mean when the TV.

however, when i conncect directly, i do get volume on the TV.

So reading the above links (thank you by the way), it appears i need a digital cable from expressvu box to Pioneer AVR and then i should be good?

i'm assuming the AVR will process the audio to the TV thru the HDMI?

·
Super Moderator
56,559 Posts