Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
702 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am a noob when it comes to cameras, and looking to get one for my wife for christmas. looking at the 600-700 range at the moment. I am looking for a camera that will shoot well for sports, mainly hockey.

Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
24,794 Posts
The Canon T1i is probably in that price range since the t2i has been out for some time.

The expensive part of this hobby is the cost of future lenses.

·
Registered
700 Posts
Both those Canons are at a very interesting price point, but if you want a more recent camera, the Nikon D7000 has an excellent quality/price ratio, but is about twice your budget. Shopping over-budget is an interesting exercise to find out what you are missing....!
For low light photography, the Pentax k-x model is close to your budget -even with additional lenses. Finally, if you seriously consider the D7000, it is worth comparing it to the Pentax K-5, since they share the same CMOS sensor, but have different features.

·
Registered
2,310 Posts
When photographing indoor hockey you will very quickly see the limitations of entry DSLR and entry lenses.
If you put some decent glass on an t2i you will be able to get some great shots, but you will blow your budget on the lens alone.
If you just want some snaps from the stands a t2i with kit lens will do you ok. If you want pro looking shots it will = pro prices.

Start out with a starter kit t2i or the like, then as you become familiar with the ins and outs of photography you can always get your self some nice lenses.

·
Banned
374 Posts
If you decide to go the Nikon route then the NIKON 50MM/1.8 AF D is a must have budget lens for indoor hockey photography. Would make a nice addition to a standard package lens without blowing your budget. You can also pick them up in the used market fairly cheaply.

·
Registered
291 Posts