Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I currently have a 1080i 60" DLP screen that I bought 6 years ago.
I'm looking to upgrade to a 1080p Sharp Quattron 60" LED 120hz HDTV.

Currently I have a regular cable subscriptions, and I am not interested at this time to subscribe to a HDTV service (Videotron illico, Bell Digital, etc).

My question is the following:

Will regular cable look good on the HDTV?
I'm worried that it will look even worse than how it looks on my older TV, because it will be showing more of the imperfections of the regular cable signal.

Or am I better of not buying a HDTV until I am ready to upgrade to a HDTV service?

Thanks a lot guys!

·
Registered
7,131 Posts
My experience is that newer HDTVs handle SDTV slightly better but that will vary with the TV and source (analog cable, type of decoder box, etc.) May I suggest that you obtain an HDTV receiver, either on loan or rental, to try it out. Most providers have some free HDTV channels so it is not necessary to pay extra for programming. Another option is to use an antenna to pick up OTA channels for free. If you live near a major Canadian city or the US border, there may be several HDTV channels available.

·
Registered
1,122 Posts
Greetings

There is something called Bluray ... that we can use our HDTVs for. :)

In 1939 when the specs for SD were developed, the creators figured that the system would one day be capable of large screen images ... maybe as big as 19 inches.

The SD system was designed for up to 19" ... you have 60" ... what could possibly make it look good at 60" ... unless you shrink the image down to 19" or so. That's why the PIP on cable boxes and satellite boxes always looks good on every channel. Because it is way smaller than 60"

As long as 60 continues to be bigger than 19 ... SD really is what it is.