Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, So you're watching an OTA HDTV channel. It registers as 1080i or 720p. Let us say that the program is some show from the 1970s or 80s. Granted the image looks great, but is it true HD?

I'm not an engineer and I've been out of the industry for over a decade. I did however work at a local station. We used to get tapes that were BETACAM SP that went to air and prior to that it was 3/4". Max res was 325i or something close to that. We also had Superbetacam which was 390 and ED BETA which was 500. That puts it slightly over DVD quality. The tapes would arrive and be cued and marked for commercials and switching accordingly in their decks.

What format are they receiving today? I mean the quality looks better than it ever has but assuming it's only ED BETA it can't be much better than DVD. Some programs look better than others but I was watching 3's company and it looked phenomenal! That show used video to record some episodes for crying out loud and that was 1977. I What gives? Why does it look so good. The Incredible Hulk is another one that looks fantastic for a 30 year old show.

·
Registered
3,573 Posts
I don't know whether this correlates directly with your inquiry but here are my experience reagrding Standard Def in the HD world.

1. DVD playback, even not upscaled, tend to look better when played on a BD player than on a DVD player

2. recording in SD using an HD video camera yields far better results than recording the same image (light controlled etc) on an SD video camera

3. watching HD signal (output 480i on the blu-ray player) on an SDTV still look superior than watching the DVD version played back on the same BD player.

Maybe the components used are of much higher quality which in return yield a better result?

·
Super Moderator
56,433 Posts