Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all... I'm a bit of a noob who could use some help.

I have a Sammy HLP6163, an old PS2 , GT4 and Monster component cables.

Trying to play the game in 1080i... when I select the 1080i option... the screen goes black for 15 seconds and then reverts back to normal mode. The resolution looks the same as it did when I had my S-Video hooked up instead.

I must be doing something wrong as I 've read in other forums that other Sammy owners are at least seeing the game in 1080i (although they seem to have centering problems).

Is it possible that my old PS2 is the problem or am I just 'tarded?

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
if your ps2 is a first generation like mine, it doesn't do the high def stuff. the later versions of the ps2 do progressive and high def. you might have to bite the bullet and get a newer ps2 to play the high def games with your tv.

·
Registered
106 Posts
I just have to clear things up. The progressive scan option you are talking about is for movies. I have a PS2 from launch and it can display progressive scan games. Should not have any trouble with displaying the 1080i image.

I have a launch PS2, GT4 and Sony brand component cables. Everything works as it should. Make sure you have the component cable option set properly in the PS2 options. i.e. start the PS2 without a DVD or game in it and go into the set up options.

later,
mk

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
eclipz said:
I just have to clear things up. The progressive scan option you are talking about is for movies. I have a PS2 from launch and it can display progressive scan games. Should not have any trouble with displaying the 1080i image.
i was wondering if you have tried switching from the component setting to the regular setting and got any picture difference.