Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm very new at this and looking for a new phone. Seems to me that Android has a lot of good things but the one thing that keeps popping up is the lack of updates for the phones.

Seems all the other phones MS/Iphone/bb all can be connected to a pc and updated via the os creator yet on all the Android phones you have to get your updates from the carrier.

As I read though the thread it seems like this is not working. When you pay $500+ for your phone do you not think you should be free to add all the updates the phone can handle?

Is this problem going to change?
If not I would think this will be a big part of why Android downfall

I did read that if you hack your phone you can perform the updates yourself but for most this really is not an option.

·
Registered
5,463 Posts
There is no problem mentioning the carrier.

Unfortunately there is not a lot users can do about this other than unlocking/rooting your phone. Rogers (as an example) delayed a VERY important bug fix for the HTC Magic for many months until they could get a customized version of the OS from HTC. The bug affected 911 calls and Rogers delayed the release for over 6 months. Why? So that they could get the Rogers customizations into the OS. The kicker here is that the customizations are generally useless.

·
Registered
3,255 Posts
my WM phone updates came the same way, i had to wait till htc and telus where good and ready to give the updates... My diamond wm6.1 never got any official os updates. I ended up rooting the phone to get 6.5.xxx