Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I am new to FTA (very very new). I'm interested in exploring FTA for chinese channels. Does anybody know if it is possible for me to receive chinese channels in Canada (Vancouver BC to be specific). If so, is there a list of chinese channels that I can get somewhere?

And for those who are already reaping the benefits, are these channels any good?

Thanks for any info. It is greatly appreciated.

·
OTA Forum Moderator
24,867 Posts
smurfgun said:
I'm interested in exploring FTA for chinese channels. Does anybody know if it is possible for me to receive chinese channels in Canada (Vancouver BC to be specific).
Hi, I'm not Chinese but if you look at the transponders on Intelsat Americas 5 you can see a few Chinese channels amongst the international services on that satellite:

http://www.lyngsat.com/ia5.html

I'm sure others can give you better info. Also I'm wondering if you have a DTV tuner and a TV antenna? Vancouverites get KBCB-DT Bellingham in digital OTA on channel 19.1 remapped to 24.1 and their prime time programming is in Cantonese and Mandarin.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I don't have any FTA equipment at the moment. I do have a 20" dish but don't know if I can pick up anything with that.

I am willing to buy some FTA equipment but I need to know that it is worth it. Primarily I want to receive more chinsese channels for my parents. Currently in Vancouver, I only have 2 chinese channels.

Comments?

Thanks,

·
Member #1
47,683 Posts
I think you'd be advised to find a local dealer, preferably one that services the Chinese community, and go see for yourself what is available.

If you do, please post your findings here!

·
Registered
928 Posts