Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,180 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have no experience with FTA but I have been reading around forums and websites to try to learn. Here is my situation:

- Idea is to install FTA Satellite at the cottage to be used primarily between May and October. I would bring home the receiver in the off-season to hook up to another dish in Toronto that I could install.
- Ku band desired (not willing to install a six foot dish for C band)
- I could install up to a 120cm dish
- Motorized

Desired receiver characteristics
- ATSC (OTA HDTV antenna) capable
- Cottage is SD (CRT TV), Home is LCD HDTV so should be both HD & SD capable
- A plug for attaching a hard disk drive would be good. Built-in PVR not needed.
- Don't want to overpay but I don't want a clone.

LNB
- I don't even really understand what it is but I know I don't want a cloned one.
- I want it to be capable of vertical and circular formats so all formats can work

I want to be able to get all the FTA English channels I'm entitled to get legally.

I already get 30+ channels with my OTA antenna in Toronto and I am satisfied with my channel selection. The cottage is a different story. OTA is a work in progress there. Likely the only good channels at the cottage will be CBC, CTV, TVOntario, and maybe Global if I can pull in channel RF6.

The FTA project at the cottage would be a success if I could add PBS to the lineup at the cottage. Any other English channels would be a bonus. Searching for other stuff would be a fun hobby activity.

If the above specs for the FTA receiver are too costly, then I would be interested in a lower-end SD model as long as it could downconvert HD FTA content.

Any recommendations?
LNB
Receiver
Motor

Thanks!

·
Registered
292 Posts
this one is easy!

lnb- qph-031 (2 circular outputs 2 linear outputs) go with the cheita heavy duty.
switch- diseqc (to allow both c/l....$5)
motor-sg2100