Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
16,719 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Bell Fibe TV to be available as a standalone TV service in early 2017

Bell announced that by the end of Q1 2017, Fibe TV customers will no longer be required to sign up for Fibe Internet service to access Canada's fastest-growing television service.

Later in the press release, they mention that "Bell Fibe in turn will now be enhanced to operate without the need for a Fibe Internet connection for new customers by the end of Q1 2017."

It's not clear if that means that existing customers will be able to switch their internet to a different provider or not.

There is an old thread discussing that this was possible in certain restricted circumstances.
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/188-bell-fibe-tv/136086-fibetv-without-internet-add-now-possible-2012-04-via-retentions.html
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,239 Posts
I think it's a good idea. I'd like to try Fibe TV but I don't want to switch my Internet Service on cable, which I'm happy with.

-Mike
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
339 Posts
They were so insistent on refusing to allow anyone to get it unless you also paid them for internet service, that they canceled my TV service several years ago. And I do mean they actively got rid of me as an existing Bell TV VDSL customer, and not the other way around. I did not voluntarily cancel them.

About 10 to 12 years ago, when I moved into a new apartment, for the first time in my life I had a choice between Rogers and Bell for cable TV. There was almost nothing to differentiate between the two, except the one Bell terminal allowed for more easily being able to record one channel while watching another, so I got Bell. It was a standard definition VDSL service, branded at the time as Bell TV For Condos. I wasn't getting any home internet service then, and had no interest in getting it at that time.

Three or four years later they began upgrading the VDSL TV service to what would eventually be called FibeTV and of course have HD channels. When they called me to say it would be available soon in my building, I told them I would be willing to buy the new terminal and pay a little more per month for the TV service, but they said too bad and we're canceling your TV service unless you also agree to get internet service. And sure enough they followed through on the threat a few weeks later. I quickly moved my phone service to someone else, and have had nothing to do with Bell since then.
I might have remained a Bell customer for all these years if they had allowed me to continue getting the TV service by itself.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,715 Posts
Bell's arrogance in matters like these are what drove me away as a customer well. Other companies that resell Bell services are much easier to deal with and cheaper, even when bundle discounts are factored in. We can't get Fibe TV here anyway but they lost me as a phone, internet and satellite customer many years ago.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
267 Posts
I'm actually looking forward to this ! I can't wait until it comes to Bell Aliant Fibe TV ! I personally will continue with my bundle I think, but my mom might be interested to know that she can use her Rogers IGNITE Internet and get Fibe TV at the same time ! Where Fibe TV is integrated with Bell Fibe TV this will be possible in Atlantic Canada as well. Right now Fiber is unavailable to her in her retirement building in ST. JOHN'S. It is available here too. Wow, right.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,787 Posts
This would probably be a good idea for someone like my Grandparents who watch TV but do not use internet, nor do they even know how to use it (they're pretty old fashioned)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
267 Posts
Bell has stated that in 2017 you will be able to have Fibe TV without Fibe Internet, I find this interesting ! They may be able to reach more rural areas with Fibe TV this way. They mentioned Atlantic Canada too in their news release awhile back.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,096 Posts
The way I understand it, is that you would still have to have bell Fibe internet and Fibe tv connected to that line. Bell just will not be forcing customers to buy internet service with their tv service.
I do not think that customer will be able to have for example Teksavvy cable internet and Bell Fibe Tv running on that line.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Almost into March now. Has anyone heard anything further on this?

In Bell's press release they state 'Bell Fibe in turn will now be enhanced to operate without the need for a Fibe Internet connection for new customers by the end of Q1 2017.'

Technically how are they going to offer the service?

Sounds to me like they are going to allow access from any internet provider. Or will it be restricted to Bell DSL re-sellers only? So no joy for those who are on cable? Are they any technical issues anyone is aware of that would preclude cable?

I'm getting my roof re-shingled in April and i'd love to tell the roofers not to bother re-installing the satellite dish.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
16,719 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
@StephenMorrow I'm pretty sure you will be able to have a cable internet provider or no internet provider at all (eg. senior citizen that doesn't use internet.) This change was made after the CRTC put Bell on the spot at a hearing and the day before another hearing.

Bell's self-imposed deadline works out to March 31, so hopefully they will be able to make all the changes on schedule.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,096 Posts
No, they won't allow access from any internet provider as it is against the law. To have Fibe tv you will have to have Bell's DSL connection. Bell will just not force customers to sub to regular Bell's Internet together with Bell Fibe tv service. Vmedia tried to do that few months ago and it lost the case in courts.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
16,719 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
You won't be able to get Bell Fibe TV over another company's internet connection. After re-reading the post and my answer, I should have made my previous post clearer.

Bell's Fibe TV will still operate on a Bell internet connection. The difference will be that you won't have to subscribe to Bell internet service to get Bell Fibe TV, even though the physical infrastructure will be there. You can subscribe to an internet service from another company if you choose, but that will be unrelated to Fibe TV.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
So what is taking so long to add the ability to watch recorded programs from the PVR?

After several months it still says coming soon! That's not soon.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,715 Posts
Bell's Fibe TV will still operate on a Bell internet connection.
That actually makes the issue more murky. Fibe TV doesn't use an internet connection and never did. Fibe TV uses a Bell operated wide area network (WAN) and does not require an internet connection.

The internet connection also uses the Bell WAN. The WAN is the underlying layer for both services. Either service can be provided independently of the other.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
16,719 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
@ExDilbert you are correct. I was using the term in the layman's sense to clarify that you couldn't get Fibe TV over a Rogers internet connection, without getting into all the technical details that would confuse the general reader.

The bottom line is that Bell has to install a high-speed wired connection to your home or business for you to get Fibe TV.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
16,719 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
This is unofficial, but I heard that this feature will be available starting March 26. My understanding is that all the interactive features that require an "internet" connection will work, but the connection will only access Bell's internal network and the outside internet will be blocked.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
16,719 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
I tested a new order of "Starter" without internet today and got the following response:
Do you want to order Fibe TV in a bundle or with Internet?
Fibe TV is available for purchase online bundled with Internet. For more options, call 1 866 210-9786.
It looks like they are ready to accept orders for Fibe TV standalone, but you can't do it online. I don't know if it will always be this way or if they plan to expand the online ordering system.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Prior to this week, I had Fibe TV with internet for months and attempted to get them to drop the internet several times (I have internet with a much cheaper/better provider). Bell would only drop me to a less expensive $30 a month internet plan, so for several months I paid for internet which I did not use.

Finally with the changes this week, I can confirm, I was able to call them and get them to drop the internet, but keep my Fibe TV. The girl on the phone didn't know how to enter it into their system, and I was off-and-on hold for an hour, but she finally did it. Then Bell had to send a technician to change the modem or something, and take their router back.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,096 Posts
Were you able to keep discounts for the Fibe tv, if you had any and were you able to keep free PVR rental after cancelling the internet.
I called them too, but I would have lost $20 credit on my tv package and would have to start paying $15 for PVR rental.
Instead Bell offered 25/10 Internet service for $50 a month so I decided to keep it for now, maybe if I insisted they would have let me keep the savings but I do not mind to keep what Bell offered.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
16,719 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
Can anyone that subscribed to the new "Fibe TV without internet" after March 26 answer the following questions?
1. Do all the features of Fibe TV work, especially those that require data? eg. Galaxie, VOD search
2. Can you access CraveTV or Netflix through your STB? (if you subscribe to the services)
3. Were you told what happens if you try to access the internet through your Bell connection?
4. Were you told
(a) it wouldn't work at all or
(b) that you would be billed if you used it?
If (a), have you tried it?

Note: I'm especially interested to answer those questions for the new system. Things may have been configured differently under the old system where you had to go through retentions.
 
1 - 20 of 41 Posts
Top