Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
598 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are there any energy-efficient pool pumps? My father-in-law is stuck with a pool that needs circulation to keep clean. Pretty much nobody uses the pool anymore other than a duck. We were reviewing hydro bills and noted high consumption. Tripping to pool circuit breaker resulted in power consumption going down dramatically (the meter wheel would turn once every 10 secs with the pool pump on, and less than once every 20 secs with the pump off.

Can't empty the pool otherwise the membrane will rot. Don't want to fill it in for resale value purposes. Turn the pump off for 12 hours and the water starts to turn cloudy.

Any recs? I am no pool expert.

·
Registered
700 Posts
To avoid chlorine and electricity consumption, from early September to late October, I keep my pool covered with a black pine needle net. This is a tightly woven polyethylene which allows rain water through, but eliminates all light entering the pool, stopping algal photosynthesis. Providing the pool was properly chlorinated before the pump shutdown, the pool water and pool bottom remain pristine. When I go on month long trips, I use the same approach; the pool temperature will drop to the surrounding soil temperature (in the inground case), in my case around 15 C. When you are away, this is the most foolproof approach to keeping the pool water clean.
If you want to keep appreciating the water surface, have you tried a pool pump timer? Most pools only need to be circulated 8 or so hours per day in the summer. You need to buy a 15 A timer, for a 1 HP pump. Hydro Québec has an ongoing rebate program on these timers, maybe BC Hydro has something similar.

·
Registered
1,115 Posts