Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Please bear with me, I'm a total newb to all this, and I know absolutely nothing about building an antenna but we really needed one so I came here a few days ago and started reading. Great forum with tons of useful information! This is actually kinda fun and i'm enjoying tinkering with it.

Heres my tv fool report: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d8d17b2ef68a9b1

The main channel we'd like to get is KDKA-DT (2.1)....but needless to say as many channels as possible on the list would be nice. Channel tower info if needed http://www.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?call=KDKA

So I did a quick rough attempt to see if one of the diy ones posted here would work for us and I built this: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/album.php?albumid=722&pictureid=3706

I plan on building a better version, more durable, better quality etc once I get the bugs worked out. Anyhow, we do get the KDKA station we had hoped for but it drops out alot and my antenna signal strength is around 50% as measured by my converter box. The above crude work has 10" whiskers with the end gaps at 9 1/4".

Any changes or suggestions from you guys would be greatly appreciated. Did I run the phase lines correctly???( is that the right way to run it with that many whiskers or should it be an upper and lower?) Should I add more whiskers? Should I outright try another design that is posted here? Maybe a reflector? (but will that limit the number of channels?) Sorry for so many questions, but I'm still kinda winging it so please bear with me.

·
Premium Member
1,127 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

The photo of your DIY antenna doesn't show up in your post. I had to look at your album to find it. I suspect that you didn't use the BBCode. Please read these instructions:
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=92167