Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I'm new to this, and searching posts dind't really awnser my questions, and I was thinking this deserved it's own thread, so here I go.

I am interested in receiving all sort of satellite broadcasts, both free, and paid, which is why I want to invest in a good DVB-S and S2 compatible USB box with a card slot.

So here's what I would like to do:

-Buy some dishes, and use the big C-Band Dish at my granda's to see what I can get.

-Go to my grandparent's on the other side of my family, grab the card from their set-top box and see if I can get BellTV to work in Windows Media Center 7.

-Test out MCE 7 with a DISQEC, a cband dish, a 1.2m ku dish, an 18" ku dish, and another 18" ku dish.

-Attempt to get HD FTA fed into my house, and set up a full PVR home theatre computer system.

What I think I know:

-As long as I am pointed at a DVB-S or S2 satellite, it does not matter whether I'm using CBAND, Ku, Ka, etc, as the LNB coverts the siganals to approximately the same frequencies for transportation over coaxial cable anyways.

-I can get some majour US networks in HD using FTA.

-I can buy service from Dish Network or Bell Canada, and use the card in my computer to view pay TV.

-It's only a myth that people with lots of satellite dishes also have old carparts spread over their lawn, and also eat lots of possum.

-DSS and DBS has limited content, and virtually no tuner cards availiable. DVB-S is a more widely adopted standard.

-A small foundation can allow small dishes to be ground mounted.

-An FTA box can be used with a legal SmartCard from a satellite provider.

So, based on what I just said, is there anything that needs correcting, and can anybody recommend a good cost effective DVB-S2 USB box with card support?

Thanks!
Taylor

·
Premium Member
6,432 Posts