Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've never used component cables (r,g,b) before (hooking my 6131 to the new HDTV), but I thought they included an audio signal as well. Is this not true?

Sorry, I know it's a dumb question, but just looking for some clarification.

The reason I ask is that I was sure yesterday when I connected the TV through the component cables, I was getting sound, but when I adjusted things again last night (moved cables around, etc), I didn't have sound. Played around this morning, and still no sound. Furthermore, when looking in the manual for the TV, it shows audio cables going from the receiver to the TV (in addition to the component cables), yet there's only a digital option on the back of the satellite receiver.

Thanks...

Dave

·
Super Moderator
56,507 Posts
Component video doesn't carry audio. You need to connect the red/white analogue audio cables. Here's the FAQ on the topic. There must be analogue audio connections on the back of the STB. Make sure you haven't mixed up the red for component video with the red for audio, etc. It's possible that you may have utilized the RF-coax connection before, which would provide audio, but would not provide HD video signals. Do not hook up the RF-coax connection from the STB to the TV since it doesn't give HD and is often confusing for other family members who would change to the incorrect input on the TV..

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=76085

Here's a post useful for those new to the forum - FAQs, Search Tips, Optimization, etc:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741

·
Super Moderator
11,128 Posts