Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I'm new to Vancouver, BC and am wondering if Shaw carry any "Soccer/football" SD/HD channels? (e.g. La Liga, UEFA Champions League, Europa League, English Premier League etc).

Thanks.

·
Registered
1,900 Posts
Many soccer/football matches can be found on Setanta. Setanta is a premium service channel which is $14.99 per month.

EDIT: My response pails in comparison to Alan's below. Kudos & thank you Alan. Just to add to it GOLTV and Fox Sportsworld are $2.95/month or both for $3.95.

·
Registered
1,421 Posts
Shaw does carry many channels with varying amounts of soccer. If you are interested in non-North America football then the following channels are ones you should look at

Setanta Canada (Ch 154 SD)
GolTV (CH 151 SD)
Fox Sportsworld Canada (Ch 156 SD)
Telelatino or one of the Italian language channels

Note that there are rumours that Setanta and GolTV will be available in Canada shortly in HD but nothing has been announced by Shaw as to when or if they will be carrying them in the neat future.

North American soccer and limited non-North American soccer are also carried by Sportsnet (SD and limited HD), TSN (SD And HD), TSN2 (SD and HD), CBC (SD and HD) and the Score (SD and HD).

There is quite a bit of soccer available but it can get expensive to get all that is available.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Shaw Guru, Alan Bealby:p

Just called up Shaw to add Setanta Canada, GolTV and Fox Sportsworld Canada. I'm looking forward to these channels in HD in the near future;).

Thanks again guys and have a great day!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Actually Setanta is confirmed to be going HD on Aug 1.
This is great!

Maybe I was spoiled by CBC's coverage of the FIFA World Cup in full HD, and now watching Setanta Canada, GolTV and Fox Sportsworld Canada in SD with WS LCD TV is just not bearable.