Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was curious about this, as I have been using a DB2E for many years indoors with great success. Only drawback was the lack of VHF capability. Purchased a Clearstream 4Max recently and installed it in the exact location as the DB2E. The results were disappointing to say the least. VHF was great, but the UHF reception was terrible, struggling to get 10 channels, where the DB2E would receive 30. Wondering if its worth to try different places to mount before packing it up and returning it. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
1,200 Posts
Was curious about this, as I have been using a DB2E for many years indoors with great success. Only drawback was the lack of VHF capability. Purchased a Clearstream 4Max recently and installed it in the exact location as the DB2E. The results were disappointing to say the least. VHF was great, but the UHF reception was terrible, struggling to get 10 channels, where the DB2E would receive 30. Wondering if its worth to try different places to mount before packing it up and returning it. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.
The CS 4MAX has a much narrower beamwidth than the DB2E. Add the VHF kit to the DB2E.

·
Registered
10,617 Posts
Simple VHF kits can have a negative effect on overall reception and are not very good at receiving VHF. A better idea would be to purchase a separate VHF antenna such as the CS5 and use a UVSJ to combine them.

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·