In a statement issued today, CBC/Radio-Canada says that all Bell TV and Shaw Direct subscribers should have access to their local CBC or Radio-Canada television signal.

Bell TV currently carries nine of 14 CBC stations and eight of 13 Radio-Canada stations, while Shaw Direct carries only 10 of 14 CBC stations and six of 13 of Radio-Canada stations.

The company says it's a problem that will ask CRTC to resolve once and for all in the context of a major policy review now underway.

Under CRTC policy prior to today, Bell and Shaw are required to carry at least one TV station from each nationally-licensed television network and a minimum of 5 CBC and 5 Radio-Canada stations, including one from each time zone.

As of September 1, 2011, satellite TV providers will be obligated to carry at least one TV station per province (and 2 stations from the 4 Atlantic provinces) owned by each major Canadian broadcasting ownership group. CBC and Radio-Canada are considered to be two distinct ownership groups.

CBC/Radio-Canada is demanding the CRTC make it mandatory for to carry all 27 stations.

Learn more in the CRTC's " Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2010-488 "
CBC/Radio Canada stations not being carried by one or both satellite television providers today include CBC stations in Edmonton, Regina, Charlottetown, Fredericton, Windsor, St-John's, as well as Radio-Canada's stations in Quebec City, Saguenay, Rimouski, Trois-Rivières, Sherbrooke, Regina and Toronto. The result says the CBC is that subscribers in those markets don't have access to local CBC news.

Combined Bell TV and Shaw Direct have about 2.9 million subscribers. The CBC claims the number of subscribers not receiving their local affiliate is in the hundreds of thousands.

Discuss in Digital Home's Canadian Television Industry / Channels and Providers forum .