Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Member #1
Joined
·
47,683 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Rogers Sportsnet has announced a new three-year agreement with CanoeKayak Canada for exclusive broadcast rights to five key events this season, leading up to the London 2012 Olympic Game

Live coverage gets underway, Friday, Aug. 19, with the 2011 ICF Canoe Sprint World Championships from Szeged, Hungary at 10 a.m. (ET)/7 a.m. (PT) on Sportsnet East and Ontario. Coverage continues on Sportsnet ONE Saturday, Aug. 20 at 8:30 a.m. (ET)/5:30 a.m. (PT) and Sunday, Aug. 21 at 6:46 a.m. (ET)/3:46 a.m.

This is the main qualification event for London 2012, and features Oakville native Adam van Koeverden, three-time Olympic medallist and a seven-time world champion, who has qualified for the men's K-1 1,000m final. Canadian teammate Mark Oldershaw has moved on to the men's C-1 1,000m final, while Thomas Hall of Pointe-Claire, Quebec and Ben Russell of Dartmouth, Nova Scotia have gained a berth in the C-2 500m final. Both Hall and Russell will join Paul Bryant of Richmond Hill, Ont. and Ian Mortimer of Ottawa in the C-4 1,000m final.

In addition to the Canoe Sprint World Championships, Sportsnet has also secured the broadcast rights to the Canoe Sprint World Cup, Canoe Slalom World Championships, Canoe Slalom World Cup, and the Mazda Canoe Kayak Knockout.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
144 Posts
Saw some of this and I don't know why anyone would watch. That being said...good for sportsnet for adding something different and not more poker/darts, which would have probably been easier...and cheaper.
 
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
Top