Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi as a newbie I've been lurking and reading...I was wondering if anyone had tried building a reflector for the RCA ant751. I have been looking at doing this mod and was wondering if in the experience of many on this board it would be worthwhile... I'll probably pick up a CM4228 in a few weeks ...but I like tinkering...I was thinking corner or parabolic, BTW a queen size bedspring doesn't really work all that great... If this post is in the wrong section I apologise...

·
Registered
597 Posts
That antenna is a small Yagi style antenna which already has a reflector element on it. Not saying it maybe couldn't be improved for a particular channel but probably not much and most likely at the expence of reception other channels.

·
Registered
7,360 Posts
.but I like tinkering...I was thinking corner
You could try a big corner reflector on it. Just get the biggest piece of 2" X 4" mesh fencing sectional piece you can and bend it in half. Corner reflectors need to be at least 1.5 X the wavelength wide and long to really start becoming into their own. (wider and longer than the existing reflector on it) But the bigger the better. :p And then experiment with the element to corner distance.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
reflector

Thanks, I did see a yagi though that had corner reflectors the Winegard 9095P ...thats why I thought it might help, because mine seems to have lost a little signal < 34 & SNR <16 so I've lost channels (coincidently since I installed the cm9521A rotor) and I did notice it picks up signal from the rear so I thought this might filter that out some...

·
Registered
3,396 Posts
That antenna is a small Yagi style antenna which already has a reflector element on it. Not saying it maybe couldn't be improved for a particular channel but probably not much and most likely at the expence of reception other channels.