Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
Please could someone offer advice to a complete novice!
I have a DeskTop Theater DTT2200 5.1 (Cambridge Soundworks) and would like to connect it to a blu-ray player (PANASONIC DMP-BD65EB-K).

The player has:
Integrated Audio Decoder Dolby Digital, Dolby TrueHD, DTS, DTS-HD MA
Video Out 1 x HDMI
1 x Component
1 x Composite
Audio Out 1 x optical digital audio out
2 channel analogue audio out

The subwoofer has three input audio jacks in: Front - Rear- Center/Subwoofer

Is it possible, and if so, do I need a splitter or converter of some sort?
Or is the answer a new subwoofer?
Thanks for any help,
Steve.

·
Premium Member
9,233 Posts
I took a look at a pic of the back panel and did a quick flip through the owner's manual (see pg. 5), and it looks as though the DTT2200 is designed only to accept three sets of stereo inputs (front L+R, rear L+R, center+sub) from a PC sound card.

If your Blu-ray player had multi-channel analogue outputs, you might have been able to connect it to the DTT2200 using three sets of L+R RCA - to - 1/8" stereo cables.

Given that the player doesn't have multi-channel analogue outputs, your options are:
i) A stand-alone converter that will convert optical digital audio to multi-channel audio (if such a thing exists), which you would then connect (as described above) into the DTT2200.
ii) An inexpensive A/V receiver that has pre-outputs, thereby acting as a converter. You could connect your player via optical to the receiver and run the pre-outputs (as described above) to your DTT2200.

(An AVR would give you the option of ditching the DT2200, buying a new sub and running all 5.1 speakers off the AVR.)

A new subwoofer alone won't do you any good: Without the amplifier that's built into the DTT2200, you won't have anything to power the sub or the rest of the speakers.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
eljay,