Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Help!

The video on most ExpressVu channels appears like a signal that is being blocked by bad weather (pixelated). On 'set-up' the signal quality shows as 92%. The line-of-sight for the dish doesn't appear to be obstructed, except by a little snow (which I hear can be improved by the use of 'Rainex).

I'm new to this: should I be looking at a receiver problem; the dish, the LNB, or perhaps the wiring? A call to tech support didn't help much and a visit to the local BellWorld almost convinced me to switch to cable.

Any tips would be appreciated.

·
Banned
2,317 Posts
Has it always been like this?
Did you just upgrade to a new HDTV?
Signal issues will cause the "searching for satellite" nag, and the picture will break up

·
Registered
10,007 Posts
If you have 92% signal Strength that is not your problem at all.

I would be looking at the connections from the 4700 to the TV.

How is it connected, via Coax or Composite.?

·
Registered
510 Posts
I had a 4700 that was doing this on the movie channels only. What it ended up being was the input coax connector was worn out (the centre was bored out for a lack of a better term). Why it only affected the Movie Central channels, I don't know. I since replaced it with a 4100 receiver, same wiring, no issues.

·
Registered
10,007 Posts
If you are using old cable wiring then make sure that there are no splitters as that would cause pixelation.
Possible but splitters normally cause the loss of even transponders, if they are 1 Ghz splitters.

·
Registered
112 Posts
I had a 4700 that was doing this on the movie channels only. What it ended up being was the input coax connector was worn out (the centre was bored out for a lack of a better term). Why it only affected the Movie Central channels, I don't know. I since replaced it with a 4100 receiver, same wiring, no issues.