Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have Bell's "Fab 5" plan as part of my smartphone contract. Since I'm new to this cell phone thing I'm wondering what that means. I add five numbers to my online account with Bell and I can call or text those numbers for an unlimited amount of time?

It doesn't count towards my local calling minutes or towards my long distance (I have a 25 minutes per month long distance plan with my phone)?

What about roaming? Say I'm in traveling in Vancouver and I want to call somebody on my Fab 5 list who is in Montreal? Is that considering roaming?

·
Registered
4,190 Posts
It depends on whether you have just local Fab 5 or nationwide Fab 5. The nationwide option will allow you to call or text any of those numbers for free anywhere in Canada (no roaming). The local one only allows for local calling only (long distance / roaming charges may apply if you are outside your calling area)

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have the "Smart 50 Unl 5 -36M" plan (that's what is listed on my bill). I assume Unl 5 means Unlimited 5. Not sure what the 36M means.

My sister is one of my Fab 5 people, and I've texted her several times. She is in Toronto, on the Rogers network, and I'm in eastern Ontario. I notice that I don't get charged for the texts on my bill. The texts are just listed as 0.00 for the event rate.

·
Registered
4,190 Posts
That particular plan does include the Nationwide Fab 5. The 36M portion refers to the length of the contract you probably signed when you got your phone (36 Months).

So yes, as long as you are in Canada, you shouldn't be charged anything for calling/texting a number in your Fab 5.

·
Registered
528 Posts
Also, you can change up the Fab 5 once each billing cycle. So if your cousin Fred is no longer fab, you can replace him with the more fab cousin Jane.:)

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #6